Frank Lampard says only Liverpool forwards can expect preferential treatment from referees at Anfield after a penalty claim was waved away in the second half.
The Reds beat Everton 2-0 and while they defended resolutely, Anthony Gordon and his manager both believe they should have won a penalty in front of the Anfield Road End.
Table of Contents
- Anthony Gordon booked for diving in the first half
- Joel Matip challenges Gordon, Everton star goes down
- Frank Lampard insists Liverpool receive preferential treatment at Anfield
- Everton penalty in 2021 suggests Lampard is wrong
Anthony Gordon booked for diving in the first half
The Anfield crowd jeered ironically when 21-year-old Everton winger, Gordon, was shown a yellow card for simulation in the first half.
He was about to be challenged by Naby Keita but the Guinean pulled out of the tackle yet Gordon still hit the deck.
Stuart Atwell booked him for diving, making the right call, while he ensured that Gordon had to be careful for the rest of the game.
Keita is doing the Sturridge Dance while Gordon dive pic.twitter.com/oKcEvoJKOn
— Kei けい (@takumina0118) April 24, 2022
Joel Matip challenges Gordon, Everton star goes down
In the second half, Gordon was once again in the middle of penalty controversy, after he and Matip came together in the box.
Matip pushed the Everton forward in the back but not with enough force to send him down.
He did, however, stand on his foot and so Liverpool might have escaped with more than they deserved in this instance.
Gordon took to Twitter after the game to make his frustration clear.
— AG (@anthonygordon) April 24, 2022
Frank Lampard insists Liverpool receive preferential treatment at Anfield
While VAR might not have overturned Atwell’s decision had he decided to award a penalty, Frank Lampard’s interview after the game cut to the chase.
The former Chelsea midfielder and manager said that had Mohamed Salah been the one to go down under the same circumstances, he would have been awarded a penalty.
He said: “It was a penalty. If that was Mo Salah at the other end, he gets a penalty.
“You don’t get them here. That’s the reality of football sometimes.”
Everton penalty in 2021 suggests Lampard is wrong
Lampard wasn’t in charge of the Blues last season when they beat Liverpool 2-0 during the Reds’ bizarre run of 6 consecutive defeats at Anfield.
Yet, he will still have seen the bizarre penalty that the Blues were awarded when Dominic Calvert-Lewin tripped over Trent Alexander-Arnold in the box.
To suggest that Liverpool are lucky when it comes to penalties is simply absurd and anybody without bias would be able to see that.
— The Tactical Times (@Tactical_Times) April 24, 2022